The Alternative New Year's Day Spoken Word / Performance Extravaganza






2019 Before The Dawn

2015 Shadow Of The Geode

2011 Dark Matters

2007 Event Horizon

2018 Pa'lante A La Luz

2014 Estrellas En El Fuego

2010 Broken Light

2005 Total Eclipse

2017 Forever Night

2013 Black Blizzard

2009 Ex Tenebris


2016 Palabras Luminosas

2012 Kaleidoscope

2008 Futurus Lux







| Return To Main Page









BEFORE THE DAWN (Charge Into The Light):
The Alternative New Year's Day Spoken Word / Performance Extravaganza
- 2019 Anthology

- First Edition.
- Volume VI in a series.
- 144 pages.
- Trade Paperback.
- American contemporary poetry anthology.

Design and Layout: C. D. Johnson
Publishers: Rogue Scholars Press

ISBN-13: 978-0-9840982-8-6

Copyright © 2018 by Rogue Scholars Press / ANYDSWPE Imprint


$13.95 / On Sale For $9.77 Online

Click Here To Purchase

Book Preview

Click Here for Rogue Scholars Press Publishing Services


One of New York City's biggest literary events featuring more than 150 scheduled performers plus an open, had a new venue this New Year's Day. The 25th Annual Alternative New Year's Day Spoken Word / Performance Extravaganza took place on January 1, at St. John's Lutheran Church in Greenwich Village, a hub of social, political and cultural ferment. This year's theme was “Before the Dawn”.

The Alternative, which continues to be free to the public, features poets, prose writers, monologists, musicians, dancers and other performers in an eight-hour showcase that ranges from some of New York's most seasoned talents to emerging stars. The lineup evolves each year to keep the event fresh and democratic.

The Alternative began on New Year's Day in 1995, and quickly became one of the most popular events on the city's poetry and literary scene. Founder Bruce Weber is ably assisted by a staff of writers, designers and curators. Each year a fresh group of performers are plucked from all corners of the Tri-State area to enliven and transform the Alternative in unexpected ways.

Adding to the mix for the sixth consecutive, this anthology is comprised of featured writers, published by Rogue Scholars Press under the guidance of C. D. Johnson.

This volume features the work of:

Austin Alexis, Joel Allegretti, Madeline Artenberg, Dorothy Friedman August, Yael Baron, Jennifer Blowdryer, Ron Blum, Patricia Carragon, YZ Chin, Lydia Cortes, Steve Dalachinsky, Brana Dane, Pete Dolack, Gabriel Don, David Elsasser, Bill Evans, Bonny Finberg, Bryan C. Fox, Dan Freeman, Robert Gibbons, K Hank, Jared Harél, Bob Heman, Judith Lee Herbert, Roxanne Hoffman, David Huberman, C. D. Johnson, Icegayle Johnson, Ted Jonathan, Larry Jones, Meg Kaizu, Hillary Keel, Ron Kolm, Ptr Kozlowski, Sri Lal, Annie Rachele Lanzillotto, Jane LeCroy, Linda Lerner, Toni Mergentime Levi, Phillip X Levine, Piper Levine, Mindy Levokove, Tsaurah Litzky, Veronica Liu, Ellen ‘Windy’ Aug Lytle, Stan Marcus, Peter Marra, Nancy Mercado, Yuko Otomo, Eve Packer, Stella Padnos, Puma Perl, Howard Pflanzer, Su Polo, Justin Reed, Marguerite Maria Rivas, Robert Roth, Thaddeus Rutkowski, Sarah Sarai, Brian Sheffield, Danny Shot, William Shunn, John L. Silver, Joanna Sit, Miriam Stanley, JM Theisen de Gonzalez, Claire Van Winkle, Bruce Weber, Francine Witte, Jeffrey Cyphers Wright, Allan Yashin.







(Artwork by C. D. Johnson)





Book Cover






Post Card







Copyright © 2018 by ANYDSWPE Collective
All Rights Reserved.

Designed by C. D. Johnson, Webmaster